Smithsonian Illustration


Smithsonian Illustration by Colin~Johnson
Smithsonian Illustration, a photo by Colin~Johnson on Flickr.

By Colin-Johnson

I’m happy to post the first collage piece that I’ve completed in 2012 thus far. It’s hard to believe that this is the first posted this year but I’ve been focusing a great deal on my painting work. I’m also happy to announce that this piece was created for Smithsonian Magazine and is the first of my collage works to ever be created as an editorial illustration. Typically I reserve this type of work for personal projects due to the length of time it takes to create pieces of this complexity. But the people at Smithsonian were great to work with and gave me plenty of time to complete the assignment. This illustration was created to accompany an article about the treatment of poor people in America. I was happy to do it for such a prestigious client.

Detailed view: www.flickr.com/photos/colinjohnson/7579240986/in/photostr…

 

Leave a Reply

